Home NEWS Tumblr for iOS back to App Store after adult content ban

Tumblr for iOS back to App Store after adult content ban

104
0
Tumblr for iOS back to App Store after adult content ban
Tumblr for iOS

Recently, the Tumblr platform was not going so smoothly. This is due to the fact that with its help spread child pornography.

After it was discovered, Apple removed the mobile app from the App Store . This happened in mid-November, and in early December, Tumblr officially announced that all “adult content” would be removed from the platform. This is a rather controversial decision, but, judging by Apple, it worked.

The Tumblr app is back on the App Store this week. The latest version of the application says about all its changes, including the prohibition of certain types of content. With the help of a special algorithm on Tumblr, adult content will be recognized and deleted. Here is what the Tumblr team writes:

Our new Community Rules will take effect on December 17, 2018.

New content downloaded from this time and marked as adult content will no longer be allowed in Tumblr . We will also start tagging and deleting existing adult content with the ultimate goal of removing as much of this content as possible. 

Adult content includes, first of all, photographs, videos or GIFs that show the genitals of a real person or female nipples, as well as any content, including photographs, videos, GIFs and illustrations depicting sexual acts.

Examples of exceptions that are still allowed are naked female nipples during breastfeeding, during childbirth or the postpartum period, as well as health-related situations such as breast removal or sex reassignment. Written materials, such as erotica, nudity in the context of political statements or news, as well as nudity in art, such as sculptures and illustrations, are also materials that can be freely placed in Tumblr .

The Tumblr management decision provoked a strong reaction. In addition, due to the imperfect operation of the algorithms, the content that is definitely not an “adult” is deleted. The company even expected this to happen at the beginning.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here