Are you going to sell your iPhone? Remember that the other person or buyer can extract your information from it so don’t forget to erase private data from it before selling it to another person. You probably don’t want the next person to have your detail such as messages, photos, contacts and other important stuff that is stored on your iPhone. Therefore, the wise decision is to erase the complete content from the device so that none of the other users can use it.
Many people don’t think about this crucial step while selling or disposing of the device and this poses the threat of Cybercrime. You can’t tell whether the person to whom you are selling your iPhone is a Wiseman or not. Don’t take a risk and erase your personal details from the device so that you can stay safe from such threats.
There are two ways to permanently erase the data- reset factory settings or use the software. Let’s see each method in detail.
Method 1-Erase Data from iPhone with reset factory settings
Erase everything from a device before you give its ownership to someone else. You can do this by resetting the device to factory settings. When a phone comes out from the manufacturing unit to the market, it comes with some default settings called as factory settings. By resetting it, your device will be same as it was when you had bought it. There are two main reasons to do so- protecting your privacy and making it, ready for the new buyer of your iPhone. To erase private data:
- Look for the settings icon and click on it
- Search for the “general” option
- Scroll the list, and you will see the option of “reset” Click on it,
- When you click it, you will see an option saying erase all content and settings
- To select it you have to enter the password
Following the above five steps will erase the data completely. It is a general method, but it is not a secure option as any data recovery software can recover the erased content. It is because the data is temporarily removed but still exist in the memory of your iPhone. Any data recovery software can retrieve the content, and thus other users can use your personal information.
Method 2- Erase iPhone data by Using erase software
Using software to completely erase private data is not only a simple way but secure as well. It will permanently remove all the contents, and none of the other users will be able to retrieve it.
Step1 – Install the iPhone data eraser on your PC and run the program.
Step 2– Connect your device to PC, a program will then recognize the phone. If it fails to recognize, reinstall the latest version of iTunes.
Step3-The program offers many options but selects the erase option. Once you choose the option, a program will start scanning of the content.
Step4– After the device is scanned, click on “erase.” Click on “delete” option to confirm the process. Again click on “erase.” The process will take a little longer to be completed.
You will get a message of completion of erasing process once it was done. Now, your iPhone no longer holds all your information and you can safely sell it.
By the way, More and more people like to erase anything from iPhone by using eraser software, because there is no possibility of recovery.
Specific process reference : https://www.safewiper.com/